Language Matters

Kathleen Stein Smith, Ph.D

Kathy’s 2015 Update and Holiday Wishes

Christmas trees gold

 

Hello Friends,

I hope that this letter finds you well and that you have had a pleasant and successful year.

For me, 2015 has been a busy and exciting year, with opportunities to present at the NAFSA, AATF, and ATA annual conferences.  In addition, I attended the “Many Languages One World” Global Youth Forum where I served as French facilitator.  My 2015 publications include 8 articles, including 2 peer-reviewed, and 3 additional articles have been accepted for publication.

In January, I assumed my new responsibilities as Chair of the AATF (American Association of Teachers of French) Commission on Advocacy.  In addition to responding to inquiries from programs at risk, I created and have maintained a Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/AATFcommissiononadvocacy/), which has now had over 700 likes.  If France, the French language and culture, or the worldwide Francophonie are of interest to you, I invite you to “like” the page and to join the conversation. I also learned that my article, “Foreign-Language Challenge: Overcoming the Anglophone Reluctance to Learn a Foreign Language,” had been published in the 2014 issue of Polyglot Magazine @ http://www.nzalt.org.nz/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/Polyglot_2014.compressed.pdf

In February, my article, “Serving Students Coming From or Traveling Abroad.” was published in Strategic Library, February 2015. Subscription only. My article, “Cross-Sector Collaboration Promises Progress,” was also published in Language Magazine @ http://languagemagazine.com/?page_id=123016

In March, my article, “The U.S. Foreign Language Deficit, Language Enterprise, and Languages for Specific Purposes.” was published in JLSP: The Journal of Languages for Specific Purposes. Peer-reviewed. @ http://jlsp.steconomiceuoradea.ro/archives/002/jlsp-i2-4.pdf
Peer-reviewed.  My article, “Top Current Trends in Foreign Languages.” was also published in Multilingual Magazine, March 2015, @  http://dig.multilingual.com/201503/#?page=6  and  http://dig.multilingual.com/201503/#?page=8

In May, I gave a poster presentation, “Foreign Language as a Global Competency:  Internationalizing the Campus,” at the NAFSA:  Association of International Educators Annual Conference in Boston, which was featured in “Kathy Stein-Smith presented at the NAFSA Conference.”  FDU Global Education Gateway.  http://globaleducation.fdu.edu/news_highlights/hglts.php?mid=3942

In June, my article, “The U.S. Foreign Language Deficit and What We Can Do about It As Foreign Language Educators,” based on presentation given at the 2014 annual convention, was accepted for publication in the Proceedings of the AATF.

In July, my article, “The U.S. Foreign Language Deficit, the Language Enterprise, and The Campaign for Foreign Languages,” was published in JLTR: The Journal of Language Teaching and Research,  @ http://www.academypublication.com/ojs/index.php/jltr/article/view/jltr0604705712 Peer-reviewed. I attended the AATF Annual Convention in Saguenay, Quebec, where I presented on “Le Français— langue mondiale, langue locale:  The Case for French in the U.S.”  I also participated as French language facilitator at the “Many Languages One World” (MLOW) Essay Contest and Global Youth Forum at the UN, coaching student essay contest winners as they prepared their UN presentations.

In August, my contribution to “So You Say:  Reader Responses to Issues in Language Learning,” was included in The Language Educator, August/September 2015.  Subscription only.

In October, I was recognized for 25 years of service at FDU and attended the annual  J. Michael Adams Lecture on “Our World at 70: The Times of the United Nations,” at the UN.

In November, I spoke at the ATA (American Translators Association) Annual Conference, in Miami, on “Translation and Language Skills:  Giving You the Professional Edge,” and the related article has been accepted for publication in the Conference Proceedings. My article, “Why Advocacy Matters,” was published in the November issue of the AATF National Bulletin.

I had several additional articles published on academic libraries and served as a contributor in the August/September issue of Language Educator.

I continue to maintain my blog, “Language Matters,”  (which has had over 9,000 views), and my 2013 TEDx talk, “The U.S. Foreign Language Deficit — What It Is; Why It Matters; and What We Can Do about It,” has had more than 5,000 views.

 

Joyeux Noël et Bonne année!

Kathy

 

Leave a Reply

